Remain Upright and Busy

It seems almost every day I hear another person say, “Oh, I just don’t have the energy to do that.”  Whatever the “that” may be is different for everyone, but the question then devolves:  If we’re not doing “that” productive thing, what are we doing with our time, and how are we directing what energy we do have? 

To determine whether we are spending too much time doing basically nothing, we need to ask ourselves the following question:  When we get home from work, what do we do?  If the answer is, “not much of anything,” dig a little deeper.  We can’t possibly be doing absolutely “nothing,” because that would entail not walking, talking, sleeping, noshing, or reclining.  So now we move on to the next question:  What is in that “nothing” that we’d like to get rid of that may help us feel more energetic?

If we are spending too much time watching television while reclining and noshing on what may very likely be not-so-healthy treats, what can we do to change that?  For me I started with trying to sit upright instead of reclining.   I don’t know why I did it, but it worked.  Maybe it’s because if we make a point of sitting upright rather than reclining, our brains won’t think we’re supposed to be sleeping.  Whatever the reason, it worked for me.  I noticed that when I made a point of sitting upright rather than reclining at the end of every day, I was not only much less tired, but actually ready to be productive.  Now I sit at the kitchen table cutting and organizing my coupons, mending, sending out cards and even exercising, rather than noshing and feeling tired — I’m slowly getting rid of my enormous “I’ll Get-To-It-Whenever” list.   A secondary benefit to  “remaining upright in order to remain energized” is that I nosh much less.   Since I snack much less, my pants are roomier; and when I hit the hay after a night of “remaining upright,” I sleep much better.  Who knows, maybe knowing that I really accomplished a lot is a mental sedative.  Whatever the biological/chemical reasons, what I do know is as I move more and more things from my “To Do” list to my “Completed” list by remaining upright and busy, I’m sleeping much better and my energy level has been truly enhanced.  Who knows, maybe the “remain upright and busy” program is all any of us ever really needed to lose the weight and get our energy levels back?

About Gelbart-Jaffe Coaching

Hospice Chaplain and Life Coach Associate Clinical Chaplaincy Certification February 2015. Proficient Life Coach Certification December 2010.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

