Terrifying Lotion & Soap?

After reading the last two posts by WebMD on Twitter about the harmful effects of using antibacterial soap http://bit.ly/5J0Fr, as well as not being aware of what’s exactly in our lotion http://bit.ly/S5B1x, I plan to start reading every label of every product I purchase.  My eldest child is studying the environment up at Stony Brook University in Long Island, and my middle child is always trying to do her best to “save the Earth.”  We are dedicated recyclers, but we’ve always been so focused on our water, food, air and recycling, that somehow we’ve been oblivious to this unanticipated threat. 

Usually in life our oblivion is related to how many calories are in the food we eat, the plaques forming and building roadblocks in our veins, or the flaws of our hearthrob — not so much our soaps and lotions.  I’ve always assumed that the rise of cancer was as a result of the chemicals we’re exposed to in our food, water and air, but now I’m not so sure.  After reading these two articles, it’s clear that the toxins that affect our body chemistry and that of our unborn children go far beyond just food, water and air.  Our soaps, lotions and cleansers go right onto our skin and find their way directly into our bloodstream and that of our babies in utero.   It never dawned on me that I could be poisoning myself or compromising my immune system by washing with antibacterial soap or using one type of lotion versus another.  This is really scarey stuff!   Now that I know that there is very little regulatory oversight for these products, and that they may contain chemicals that could be toxic, I’m going to make some quick changes.  First, I’m going to start reading labels, then I’m going to start purchasing only cleansers and lotions that contain natural, non-harmful ingredients.  The last thing I want to do is compromise my immune system or that of my family and friends.  Those silly blinders are coming off right this minute!  I love my planet; I love my family and friends; and I even love myself, so this is a very good first step — which reminds me, what did I powerwash my front porch steps with?  I’d better go check.

About Gelbart-Jaffe Coaching

Hospice Chaplain and Life Coach Associate Clinical Chaplaincy Certification February 2015. Proficient Life Coach Certification December 2010.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

