Counting the Years

Tomorrow I am going to be blessed with celebrating my 22nd wedding anniversary to my husband, a man whom I met 23 and-a-half years ago feeding the homeless on Christmas Day.  Don’t worry . . . he was a volunteer, not one of the homeless.  What’s funny about our meeting is that we didn’t exchange numbers, merely met and struck up a conversation.  Five days later, we again ran into one another at a singles event.  I had a “date,” the roommate of the guy whom I’d been dating, who was supposed to make sure I was all right while he was away in China.

Of course my “date,” the roommate, got completely drunk, leaving me without anyone to dance with till my spouse arrived and offered to dance with me.  We danced all night, and never miss an opportunity to dance to this day.  It was one of the things I loved about him right from the start.  He loved to dance and enjoy life.

Prior to that time, I’d been working day and night, and had never really learned to take the time to enjoy every day.  In our 23 and-a-half years together, that’s one thing he’s taught me that I truly cherish, that every day is worth cherishing, and that we must take as many opportunities as often as possible to enjoy our days here.

For all of you entering into new relationships, be sure you are committing yourself to a relationship with someone you will love when the hair is gone and/or gray, the belly is not so trim, and the teeth not so white, because those things may or may not change.

Look for what’s in the vessel that is your partner.  That is where the person that matters resides.  That part of your partner must be compatible with who you are inside.  When you find that compatibility, grow it together.  Do the things you love to do together, and remember always to communicate fully and completely.

Before you know it, you will find yourself 23 and-a-half years down the road going, “Wow, I never thought it was possible, but I guess it really is.”  Count your blessings with your days and never be afraid to grow old together.  That’s what life is all about . . .

About Gelbart-Jaffe Coaching

Hospice Chaplain and Life Coach Associate Clinical Chaplaincy Certification February 2015. Proficient Life Coach Certification December 2010.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

