At the Holidays, Instead of Counting to 10, Count Your Blessings

As this holiday season is upon us, and we find ourselves often amid relatives, friends or co-workers that may or may not share our lifestyle, religion, political view or approach to life in general, we may find these days and gatherings stressful.

To continue wearing that awesome smile and upbeat demeanor that everyone loves so much, instead of “Counting to 10,” breathing and eventually extracting yourself from the situation, consider Counting Your Blessings, putting your mind in “a better place,” and then walking away.  

Here are 10 Blessings to start off with. Add as many as you need until you have the opportunity to excuse yourself from the conversation or situation.

  1. I’m alive.  
  2. My (father, mother, sister, brother, spouse, child(ren) are alive.
  3. We/I have a roof over our/my head(s).
  4. We/I have food to eat.
  5. We/I have warm clothes.
  6. We/I have enough money to pay for transportation.
  7. We/I have our/my health.
  8. We/I appreciate and do not take for granted our friends or family.
  9. We/I are striving to do our best each and every day.
  10. We/I appreciate everyone here at this gathering, even though we/I don’t see eye-to-eye.  

Always keep in mind that you are the ruler of your own thoughts and actions, so if you think you may say something that will lead to an argument even after you’ve counted and breathed, thank your friend, co-worker or relative for sharing their perspective, and walk, crutch or wheelchair away.

Love, hope and joy is our holiday gathering goal, and Counting Our Blessings will help us get there.

Happy Holidays, Everyone 

About Gelbart-Jaffe Coaching

Hospice Chaplain and Life Coach Associate Clinical Chaplaincy Certification February 2015. Proficient Life Coach Certification December 2010.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

