The Oddest Thing

ImageDay-before-yesterday, I’d arrived home at 10 o’clock with a trunkload of groceries.  There was an entire herd of deer standing next to the parking lot where I’d parked my car just noshing away at the grassy area ten feet from where I’d pulled in.

It was one of the largest groups of deer I’d ever seen this close to our townhome, and I was stunned at their grace and beauty beneath the light under which they stood.  

As I exited my car and began grabbing up my groceries, all but one deer ran off in terror.  That one lone deer, however, stood there, possibly recognizing me from my treks through the woods with our dog, staring intently at me upon my arrival.  As I began unloading the first set of groceries, I noticed he was still there, as curious as a cat, watching me.  He looked at me with what seemed to be the eyes of a child, as though he were trying to figure out what it was I was doing exactly.  I returned his glance with the curious eyes of a human wondering why on earth he would stand so closely to me and my car as I scooted back and forth.

As I turned around after my third trek to the car for the last batch of groceries, my husband arrived from his meeting and asked if I’d seen the herd of deer, to which I responded first by turning around to see if that curious creature was still there watching me, and unfortunately he was not; and I responded, “I certainly did.  And there was one very special deer, so very curious, that it seemed as though I was looking into the eyes of a person when I looked at him.”  

It was the oddest, most amazing and incredible thing.  I don’t think I’ll ever forget it.  It’s moments like these that change the mundane into amazing, miraculous memories that help carry us through challenging times, bring us closer to our Maker, and make us want to be outside, even if just for a few minutes, to see if we might be able to spy yet another of nature’s miracles. 

About Gelbart-Jaffe Coaching

Hospice Chaplain and Life Coach Associate Clinical Chaplaincy Certification February 2015. Proficient Life Coach Certification December 2010.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

