International Holocaust Remembrance Day 2016

Holocaust Crimes Against Humanity

Skede Beach, Latvia – Jewish Women Executed – Image from Jewish Virtual Library

As a child, I remember . . .

My father telling us to eat every bite

Because his brother Chayim starved to death

In a labor camp in Siberia.

My father nearly starved to death as well.

Were it not for his father

Bringing in the meat from the soldiers’ dead horses

And my father eating it to stay alive,

I would not be here.

I remember our father telling us about

How he and his family ran,

But were captured and transported to the Siberian labor camp.

I remember my father sharing memories of his father’s sisters and brothers,

 And learning that my grandfather was one of nine children

But the other eight did not run;

And so far as our father and grandfather knew,

Our zayde was the only one that survived of the nine children.

The pain never left my father’s heart and soul.

My father just buried it

And passed it on to his seven children.

But now . . .

The world has forgotten

My father’s pain,

His father’s losses,

The tears,

The starvation,

The death of my dad’s baby brother Chayim,

Whom I’ll never meet,

Because he was one

Of the 6 million;

I, however, shall never forget:

The sadness,

The grief,

And the pain

In my father and grandfather’s eyes.

I will work my entire life

To teach love

Of God

Of Life

Of all God’s creatures

So that the Jewish people

Will live on,

Will never have to suffer such anguish again,

And another Holocaust

WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN!

Chaplain Tamar

1.27.16

About Gelbart-Jaffe Coaching

Hospice Chaplain and Life Coach Associate Clinical Chaplaincy Certification February 2015. Proficient Life Coach Certification December 2010.
This entry was posted in Holocaust, International Holocaust Remembrance Day, Jewish, Jewish genocide, Jews, Judaism, learning love, learning to love, Life, peace, peace of soul, peaceful coexistence, tolerance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

