C-Diff Empathy

Cdiff

Image from CDC.gov

Day in

And day out

I visit them

The sick

The dying;

And I am always

So thankful

That God is there

To help them.

This past week

As my head lay on the bathtub

My body burning up

Then freezing cold

My stools out of control

I thought:

This is it.

Never have I been so ill that I could barely

Get off the toilet

Never have I been so ill that I couldn’t keep anything down

Never have I been so ill that I lost three pounds in 36 hours

Until this week.

When I was diagnosed with C. diff.

As a hospice chaplain

I’m constantly sanitizing

Until my hands crack.

But that didn’t stop this horrible little germ

From invading my gut

Following a series of three antibiotics.

And it got me.

BADLY

I have always striven to be empathetic.

With each

And every one of my patients

And with their families.

I always strive to “be with them” in their place of suffering.

But this week

Changed EVERYTHING

Now, I know

Exactly how badly their suffering can be

And will be forever thankful

That G-d

And His ministering angels

Got me through

Thank you, G-d 🙂

Chaplain Tamar

5.16.16

About Gelbart-Jaffe Coaching

Hospice Chaplain and Life Coach Associate Clinical Chaplaincy Certification February 2015. Proficient Life Coach Certification December 2010.
This entry was posted in God's grace, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

