In the Blink of an Eye

sick-in-bed

Just like that

I went from

Hard-working,

Productive,

Efficient,

Effective chaplain

To feverish,

Nauseous,

Brutally ill patient.

In the blink of an eye.

Every time

I’m taken down,

And every time

God brings me back

I promise myself:

Never again . . .

Will I take a new day for granted.

But this time was different.

This time I was so sick

That I undertstood how

My patients can feel

That death had to be easier

Than being this sick.

So . . .

This time I will

Never again

Take a

Sunrise for granted

Or the blowing of the wind

Or the chirping of the birds

Or the dropping of the rain

Or the morning dw

My breathing in

My breathing out

My ability to

Be independent

To drive,

Work,

Cook,

Shop,

Go dog walking.

To give a hug

To get a hug

To hold a hand

And give a kiss.

Now I understand

More than ever before

What it is like

To be one of my patients:

Unable to get out of their home,

Unable to get out of bed,

Too weak to do anything

Other than “be.”

Now I see how, in the blink of an eye

Everything can change.

And I am just so very grateful

That the Almighty

Chose to heal me this time around

Because I realize

That it could all be over

Without warning

In the blink of an eye.

Chaplain Tamar

5.25.16

 

About Gelbart-Jaffe Coaching

Hospice Chaplain and Life Coach Associate Clinical Chaplaincy Certification February 2015. Proficient Life Coach Certification December 2010.
This entry was posted in a caregiver's prayer, a godsend, blink, Body, bonds, breath, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

