Letting Go

Pain Scale

In order to keep on living

I had to let go.

It was, and continues to be

The single most painful decision of my life.

I knew 9 and-a-half years ago

That one day it would have to come,

Because that is when I discovered the truth:

That my spouse did not love me.

I knew it would hurt;

So I hung on as long as I could.

But now my children are hurting

They don’t understand why I had to leave

And they are having difficulty forgiving me

For trying to save my soul

From the pain of trying to keep

Loving someone

Who was pretending to love me.

I will forever love them.

I will forever miss them.

I pray that one day

They will forgive me

For wanting to live

In a non-painful state of being,

And let me back into their lives,

For they are my only diamonds,

My only jewels,

The single-most important thing in my life

Other than life itself.

This I pray

Every day.

May God hear my prayer.

Chaplain Tamar

6.6.16

About Gelbart-Jaffe Coaching

Hospice Chaplain and Life Coach Associate Clinical Chaplaincy Certified Proficient Life Coach
This entry was posted in a caring dream, be your best, being, being courageous, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment